“Macaroons” and Fishies

I made macaroons for work again last week. Samwise asked to try some, so I made a full batch (instead of half) and sent along some friends as well:

 

Coconut “Macaroons”

I first made these the weekend after July 4 because I felt bad about eating all the food everyone else kept bringing into the office. I’m not sure if they qualify as true macaroons. They’re much fluffier and lighter than classic coconut macaroons, what the guy I shared my office with calls “corner store macaroons.” I was actually trying to make corner store macaroons, but these were a tremendous hit! Everyone at my office loved them! More importantly, Samwise likes them, too! :)

I found the recipe (below) in Family Living: Our Favorite Cookies, which I picked up for a whopping $1 at Jo-Ann’s.

BITE-SIZE SNOWBALL MACAROONS
1\frac{1}{4}       cups sugar, divided
\frac{1}{2}         cup all-purpose flour
\frac{1}{4}         teaspoon salt
2\frac{1}{2}       cups flaked coconut
4         egg whites
\frac{1}{2}         teaspoon vanilla extract

 
Preheat oven to 325 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine 1/4 cup sugar, flour, and salt. Stir in coconut; set aside. In another medium bowl, beat egg whites until soft peaks form; add vanilla. Gradually add remaining 1 cup sugar; continue to beat until mixture is very stiff. Gently fold coconut mixture into egg white mixture. Drop half teaspoonfuls of mixture onto a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake 9 to 11 minutes or until bottoms are lightly browned. Transfer to a wire rack to cool. Store in an airtight container.

Yield: about 10 dozen macaroons

 

Baby Pufferfish

You mean I climbed all the way up here and there’s no coffee in the shot glass?!

Pattern: from NeedleNoodles
Hook size: E
Yarns:
· Lily Sugar’n Cream in Hot Orange, Black, & Light Blue
· Loops & Threads Cotton Club in Misty
Other materials:
· 6mm safety eyes
· 6mm black plastic pearl beads — I ran out of safety eyes, so I used beads for the blue fish’s eyes. I found a box of multi-sized beads that are perfect! Beads require more work (sewing vs. simply snapping on), and they do protrude more, but fish eyes are supposed to protrude, right?

This was my first time experimenting with reflecting light for photography. I used a mirror because I don’t have any nice white screens to bounce light off of, and the fish are small enough to fit within the mirror’s reflection. The mirror made a huge difference: All of these photos are either entirely unedited or edited with only a minimal increase in exposure and sharpness–no fiddling with brightness, contrast, or anything else.

Ssshhh, it’s a secret!

3 thoughts on ““Macaroons” and Fishies

  1. FISHIES

    I’m so sad we ate all the macaroons already. I was afraid they wouldn’t last long in this humidity…really! But I am going to make some soon so the coconut-y goodness can be mine again.

    • They’re relatively easy to make. The most time-consuming part is baking them because the recipe yields so many!

  2. Pingback: Apple Cakes | the whimsy turtle

Leave a Reply

