Apple Cakes

Part 2 of today’s baking extravaganza!

I made these two years ago, and they were so delicious I had to make them again!

I found the recipe (below) in Family Living: Our Favorite Cupcakes & More, which I picked up for $1 at Jo-Ann’s, together with the recipe book for the coconut “macaroons” I made this summer.

 

APPLE CAKES
2\frac{1}{4}       cups all-purpose flour
\frac{3}{4}         teaspoon baking powder
\frac{1}{2}         teaspoon plus \frac{1}{8} teaspoon ground cinnamon, divided
\frac{1}{4}         teaspoon salt
\frac{1}{4}         teaspoon ground allspice
\frac{1}{4}         teaspoon ground nutmeg
\frac{1}{4}         cup butter or margarine, softened*
\frac{3}{4}         cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar, divided
3         eggs
\frac{1}{2}         cup vegetable oil
1         tablespoon vanilla extract
2         cups peeled, cored, and chopped Granny Smith apples
1         apple’s peel
\frac{1}{2}         cup chopped walnuts

* I have always substituted vegetable oil for the butter/margarine, and the cakes still come out deliciously.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a medium bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, salt, allspice, and nutmeg. In a large bowl, cream butter and 3/4 cup sugar until fluffy. Add eggs, oil, and vanilla; stir until smooth. Add dry ingredients to creamed mixture; stir until well blended. Finely chop reserved apple peel. Stir in apples, apple peel, and walnuts. Spoon batter into paper-lined muffin pan, filling each tin 3/4 full. Bake 15 to 18 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean. Transfer to a wire rack. In a small bowl, stir together remaining sugar and cinnamon. Sprinkle tops of warm cakes with cinnamon sugar mixture. Cool completely. Store in an airtight containger.

Yield: about 1\frac{1}{2} dozen cakes

 

I don’t have any walnuts here, so I just added extra apple chunks. I also only had one Granny Smith apple, so I used a mix of Golden Delicious, Granny Smith, and some very not-crisp apple I got from a free lunch.

The batter!

Yes, I mix things with chopsticks. Blame my mother for teaching me that.

I don’t understand why you are supposed to sprinkle the cinnamon sugar on after taking the cakes out of the oven. Barely any of it melts, so you just end up making a mess whenever you try to eat one.

4 thoughts on “Apple Cakes

  1. Pingback: Baked Stuffed Jack-Be-Littles | the whimsy turtle

  2. okay, that chopstick trick…neato. I will learn from you! :D

    APPLE CAKE YAY. Sorry for all the caps. Also I need to learn not to look at your food pics late at night. augh, so jealous.

    • Chopsticks work surprisingly well for mixing all kinds of batter! I use them for mixing everything. Also eggs for scrambling!

      I was considering mailing you some of these, but it’s not a very large batch and my parents want me to leave a bunch for them next week. :/ Next time maybe?

      Only ten more days until you can bake, too! :)

Leave a Reply

