Baked Stuffed Jack-Be-Littles

Perfect end-of-October brunch:

EDIT: The Internet tells me it was in fact National Pumpkin Day! Yay for unintentional perfect timing!

Left to right: cinnamon apples, brie and caramelized onions, mashed sweet potato, basil mushrooms

Cinnamon apples


Brie and caramelized onions


Mashed sweet potato


Basil mushrooms

These are very easy to make: Scoop out the innards, stuff, bake, and eat!

 

BAKED STUFFED PUMPKINS

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut a lid in each pumpkin. (Make sure not to cut straight down, or the lid will fall in!) Scoop out the seeds and any stringy innards. Pour a little vegetable oil into the pumpkin and rub around the inside. Sprinkle spices as desired and rub around the inside. Put in stuffing. Replace lid.

Place pumpkins in a baking pan with a little water in the bottom. Cover pan with aluminum foil (to prevent the pumpkins from drying out or charring). Bake for 30 minutes. Remove aluminum foil and continue baking until tender.

Stuffings:
Cinnamon apples: Sliced apple cubes tossed with cinnamon.
Brie and caramelized onions: Chunks of brie and already caramelized onions. I didn’t bake the onions, but put them on after the pumpkins were done baking. (I was afraid the onions would dry out.) In retrospect, I think it’s better to bake the onions together with the brie–possibly under the brie or sandwiched in between?
Mashed sweet potato: Not-quite done sweet potato (but tender enough to mash) mashed and mixed with cinnamon.
Basil mushrooms: Chopped shrooms tossed with basil. I was worried the mushrooms might dry out, so I added some extra oil.

For the cinnamon apples and mashed sweet potato, I rubbed cinnamon and nutmeg into the pumpkin. For the brie, I rubbed in just cinnamon. I didn’t use any spices on the pumpkin for the basil shrooms.

 

Stuffed and ready:

The white pumpkin was the thinnest and the easiest to prepare. It seemed much crisper than the orange ones, although it ended up tasting the same. Perhaps it was just drier?

Into the baking pan:

Into the oven:

All done!

I ended up baking these for about an hour total. Mostly because I was working on the apple cake batter and the pumpkins looked like they weren’t about to explode. These pumpkins are definitely something with a lot of room for error on baking time.


The brie bubbled over, and it looks like some of the mashed sweet potato did, too. I think I lost a significant portion of the brie because I stuffed it quite full but ended up with only half a pumpkin-full when done. :(


Lined up for execution

NOM:

Cinnamon apples


Brie and caramelized onions: This photo would have been awesome if I had taken it while the brie was still molten and oozing!


Mashed sweet potato. I had cinnamon sugar left over from the apple cakes, so I sprinkled some on top here.


Basil shrooms

I don’t know if you’re supposed to eat the pumpkin skins. I did when I felt like it.

 

7 thoughts on “Baked Stuffed Jack-Be-Littles

  1. oh my god, oh my god, OH MY GOD

    those look so amazing. your photography! THOSE TINY DELICIOUS PUMPKINS oh my goodness I really wish I could have been there to inhale all the steamy goodness.

    • Haha, I did have a lot of fun taking the photos, although I had to fiddle with the exposure on my computer because it has not been properly sunny here all week. You should make some after Election Day! They really are very easy to make, and the jack-be-littles basically turn into almost-mashed pumpkin.

      OR if you visit, we can totally have a baking day! :) (Okay, I’ll stop with the visiting hints.)

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Spice Hot Cocoa with Spiced Pumpkin Whipped Cream and Pumpkin Pie Spice | the whimsy turtle

Leave a Reply

