Pumpkin Spice Hot Cocoa with Spiced Pumpkin Whipped Cream and Pumpkin Pie Spice

Snow on the ground and cold in my bones, it’s time for…

…hot cocoa!

I finally got a chance to roast the sugar pumpkin that I bought with those jack-be-littles. I attempted to follow Bored’s excellent pumpkin puree directions, but I forgot that her cheese pumpkin was much larger than my sugar pumpkin. I should have taken my pumpkin out after half an hour. Since I didn’t and left it in there for a full hour, all the pumpkin juices burned to lovely black char dust. No pumpkin syrup for me. :( On the plus side, I didn’t need to use a food processor at all because the pumpkin was already all soft and mashy. I got a respectable 3.5 cups of puree/mashed pumpkin from my 3.8 lb pumpkin.

Goes great with pumpkin souffle.

 

Inspired by FatFree Vegan Kitchen’s pumpkin spice hot chocolate. Pumpkin and chocolate go incredibly well together!

PUMPKIN SPICE HOT COCOA
1\frac{1}{4}       cups milk or water
2         tablespoons cocoa powder
\frac{1}{4}         cup pumpkin puree
\frac{1}{2}         teaspoon plus \frac{1}{8} teaspoon ground cinnamon, divided*
\frac{3}{16}       teaspoon plus a pinch ground nutmeg, divided*
\frac{3}{16}       teaspoon plus a pinch ground ginger, divided*
\frac{1}{8}         teaspoon plus a smidgeon ground allspice, divided*
\frac{1}{8}         teaspoon plus a smidgeon ground cloves, divided*
\frac{1}{4}         teaspoon vanilla extract
sweetener to taste
whipped cream and marshmallows

* Alternately, substitute the spices altogether with \frac{3}{4} to 1 teaspoon, plus \frac{1}{8} teaspoon pumpkin pie spice, divided.

Mix together all ingredients and heat until steaming. Top with whipped cream and/or marshmallows. Mix together remaining spices and sprinkle on top.

Yield: 1 mug of steaming deliciousness

 

If you’re already making pumpkin hot cocoa, why not make some pumpkin whipped cream, too? It goes great with just about everything: hot cocoa, pumpkin souffle, pie, cupcakes, pancakes, muffins, you name it!

SPICED PUMPKIN WHIPPED CREAM
1         cup heavy whipping cream
\frac{1}{3}         cup pumpkin puree
1         teaspoon vanilla extract
1         teaspoon ground cinnamon
\frac{1}{4}         teaspoon ground nutmeg*
\frac{1}{4}         teaspoon ground ginger*
\frac{1}{8}         teaspoon ground allspice*
\frac{1}{8}         teaspoon ground cloves*
1         tablespoon powdered sugar (optional)

* Alternately, substitute the spices altogether with 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice.

  1. Beat cream and sugar in a cold bowl until soft peaks form.
  2. Add vanilla extract and spices. Beat until stiff peaks form. Do not overbeat, unless you want spiced butter!
  3. Gently fold in pumpkin puree.

Yield: 2 cups whipped cream

Delicious as a topping or simply eaten by the spoonful.

 

There are lots of pumpkin pie spice recipes out there, but this is what I’ve settled on:

PUMPKIN PIE SPICE
4         tablespoons ground cinnamon
4         teaspoons ground nutmeg
4         teaspoons ground ginger
3         teaspoons ground allspice
3         teaspoons ground cloves

Mix and smell the wonderfulness!

Yield: 8\frac{2}{3} tablespoons

I am so glad humans discovered spices.

Note to self: Next time, get ground cloves. As nice as the butt end of my knife now smells, there are better ways to spend my time.

 

I’ve come across the following ratios for pumpkin pie spice:

cinnamon nutmeg ginger allspice cloves
12 4 4 3 0
18 4 4 3 3
12 1.5 6 3 3
6 1 4 1 1
6 2 1 1 1

I’m sure there are lots more combinations out there. I settled on a 12 : 4 : 4 : 3 : 3 ratio.

 

18 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Hot Cocoa with Spiced Pumpkin Whipped Cream and Pumpkin Pie Spice

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Souffle | the whimsy turtle

    • Hmm, maybe I will. But I have the other spices in ground form…I was using my knife end as a pestle, but cloves are very tough. And come in small pieces. I am proud of myself for not mashing my fingers. :D

      • The ground nutmeg I have does seem rather weak in flavor and aroma. But those nuts look like a pain to crack!

      • Not really. And when you do, they still last for quite a long time. You do need a grater for it, though. I have a bunch of them if you want one. (Seriously, I have like a dozen, and I’ve only worked my way through one of them in the last year.)

      • Oh wow, that is a lot for one! I think I will take you up on your offer. So what happens to store-bought ground nutmeg that it loses its flavor? I assume your ground nutmeg is still great after a year.

      • Pretty much what happens to all pre-ground spices. It goes stale and loses flavor/aroma quickly. Nutmeg has such a strong flavor fresh, it’s pretty obvious that the ground stuff doesn’t even compare. My nutmeg (minus the one I’ve been using) are all in the shells, so they’ll still be good for a long time.

    • By the way, would you happen to know how long homemade whipped cream lasts? The Internet insists not more than a day, but I didn’t use very much and there is no way I am eating a big bowl of whipped cream all in one day.

      • The problem with whipped cream is that without a stabilizer, it will start to separate. There’s not much you can really do about it now. It’ll be perfectly safe to eat, but it will be swimming in an unappetizing pool of liquid. You can try to re-whip it or you can just pour it off.

      • Ah. Well, I overbeat it a little, so hopefully that means it’ll stick together for a bit longer? Worst case, I’ll just start adding it to everything I eat.

        Also, I usually keep store-bought whipped cream in my freezer. Should I keep this in my freezer, too, or just in my fridge?

      • I don’t think I’ve ever bought whipped cream from a store. I always store homemade whipped cream in the fridge; although I never make way more than I intend to use in a timely manner (or I stabilize with gelatin). Although freezing dollops of whipped cream in the freezer might work… I’m not sure, but I don’t see why it wouldn’t freeze up okay.. Probably not so great for cakes and stuff, but perfectly fine in hot drinks… Not sure how long it lasts in the freezer. Maybe a month or two.

      • Okey doke, I think I will try freezing it then! I didn’t realize two cups would be quite this much, and I thought I’d be using more of it. (How do you stabilize with gelatin?)

      • Blooming is such a funny word to use for food things. I should do that next time. Or I can just keep giving it all away–already found someone who took 1/3 of the bowl!

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Meringue Cookies | the whimsy turtle

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Muffins | the whimsy turtle

Leave a Reply

