Minecraft Creeper

A belated birthday present for Nick! It is going to be even more belated because Nick’s South Pole exploits mean he can’t get mail until late December. Have I mentioned that Nick was at the South Pole for ten months?! (And is now gallivanting around Middle Earth!) Have I also mentioned that Nicholas is on Wikipedia?!

SSSSSSSSSSSssssssssssss…

I ssssssseee you…

Pattern: from Nerdigurumi
Hook size: E
Yarns:

· Red Heart Super Saver (100% acrylic) in Green Tones
· Lily Sugar’n Cream in Black
Other materials:

· two mini rain sticks: bubble tea straw, aluminum foil, dry mung beans, cardboard
· thin cardboard to prevent the Creeper from becoming too round
· black felt for facial features
· Aleene’s Super Fabric Platinum Bond fabric glue for gluing on facial features

So happy I found this yarn! The alternative was color changing every few stitches. Needless to say, using this yarn was so much easier. (Although figuring out color changes actually wouldn’t have been that bad because there is a perfect 1:1 ratio of stitches to pixels!) (Also, the different greens are more distinct than they are showing up in the photos here.) I would have preferred an all-cotton yarn, but fortunately, this acrylic yarn is quite stiff (for an acrylic) and the hook size was small, so the Creeper holds its shape relatively well. I really regret not putting a piece of cardboard on the bottom of the head, though; there really ought to be one there. Oh well.

I am bothered by the face. It doesn’t look exactly right to me. I did intentionally place the eyes a little farther apart than they should be because the head is actually a bit wider than it is tall. But I don’t think that’s why the face still looks a bit off to me. The mouth may possibly be a tiny bit too large or tall, but the smaller mouth I tried didn’t look right, either. Ah well, it still looks like a Creeper, right?

Didn’t see me coming?

 

The rain sticks proved to be much trickier than I had expected. But they work! Turn up your volume to hear in the video below!

The rain sticks before I stuffed in the Creeper:

 

Also tricky: sewing on the feet. Lots of taking out stitches and resewing involved. They’re still a bit bowed outwards, but this is pretty much the best I can get them without spending hours and hours and hours more just to get the feet perfectly straight.

Feetsssiesss

Nerdigurumi’s tip on making little flaps with which to sew the feet on is an excellent idea.

The flaps are much less noticeable than I had expected!

I probably could have attached the feet more tightly, but the way they’re attached right now means they’re loose enough to make the Creeper walk!

I ssssspy…

…a house in need of a crater…

Yes, that is a Hershey’s chocolate propping up its back leg.

In-progress photo:

Head, body, and four feet all ready for stuffing and assembly.

 

3 thoughts on “Minecraft Creeper

Leave a Reply

