Orange French Toast Pudding

Unexpected four-day weekend means I can ignore all my obligations and bake, right?

Baked, not fried. Because ovens are much more fun (and less work) than stoves.

I’ve been wanting to make orange French toast for the past two months. It is as delicious as I had hoped! I layered the bread to stuff it all into the ramekin, so it is bordering on bread pudding. As far as I can tell, bread pudding is basically French toast that is cubed and layered. So I am calling this French toast pudding!

ORANGE FRENCH TOAST PUDDING
1         French bread dinner roll, sliced thickly (or cubed)
1         egg
1         tablespoon milk
1-2     teaspoon packed brown sugar
\frac{1}{8}         teaspoon vanilla extract
\frac{1}{4}         teaspoon ground cinnamon
1         pinch nutmeg
juice and zest from 1 orange

  1. Mix together all ingredients (except the bread).
  2. Layer the bread slices into a ramekin. Pour orange egg mixture over each layer.
  3. Cover and refrigerate overnight.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes.

Makes one ramekin full of deliciousness!

 

We had a small plastic juicer lying around, so I thought I’d use that. I stabbed it into the orange…and then didn’t know what to do next. I squeezed the orange and got some juice, but then the orange burst and I ended up abandoning the juicer and just squeezing the orange. I definitely didn’t get as much juice as I should have gotten. Especially since I used an orange straight out of the fridge.

How do I work? :(

 

I was worried at first that the ramekin was going to overflow, but I underestimated how much liquid bread can soak up.

Five minutes before this photo, there was liquid all the way up to the brim.


Nary a drop of liquid to be seen in the morning!

 

The bread really puffed up in the oven!

Best part: just the right amount of crunchiness on the top!

 

Garnish with orange peels…

Color coordination with the orange zest!

I had way too much fun making the garnish…

Orange peel roses!


They are held together with toothpicks.


Aren’t they pretty? :)

 

Omnomnom

4 thoughts on “Orange French Toast Pudding

  1. Pingback: Orange Souffle, 3 Ways | the whimsy turtle

Leave a Reply

