Daffodil

Happy first day of spring!

Pattern: from Head Huggers
Hook size: E
Yarns: Lily Sugar’n Cream in White & Yellow

I actually finished this daffodil last May, but I never got around to taking photos until now. I had meant to make a Chinese sacred lily as a birthday/Mother’s Day present for my mom, who loves those flowers. Chinese sacred lilies are similar to daffodils (they’re in the same genus), but just different enough that I kept meaning to modify this daffodil pattern to make a bloom more like a Chinese sacred lily.

I never did get around to modifying the pattern, so here is the always-fresh daffodil in time for spring!

I uh, may have gone a bit overboard with trying to take artsy, uncentered photos. You have been forewarned…

There were four main things I wanted to change about this pattern, all but the last applying to both daffodils and Chinese sacred lilies:

  1. The petals in this pattern curl up at the edges. It creates a nice outlining effect, but I was hoping to come up with a flatter, more realistic version. Some daffodils have relatively soft petals that curl a bit, but Chinese sacred lilies, like many daffodils, have stiffer petals that are completely flat (or at least my lilies’ petals were!).

D’ya see that edge?

  1. The pattern uses a clever trick to crochet the petals directly onto the bottom of the corona (the “trumpet” part). Unfortunately, the trick also results in six completely unrealistic holes, one at the base of each petal.

Holes, unnatural holes. Six of ’em next to the petals–count ’em!

  1. The pattern also results in a hole in the center of the corona. I’m on the fence about this center hole: On the one hand, real flowers have center holes, too, but they’re mostly filled up by the stamens and pistils. On the other hand, it’s a hole in the middle of the flower. I was leaning towards figuring out how to make three stamens and a pistil to fill up the hole and be more realistic (and also to avoid trying to figure out how to make a version without a center hole).

Not massive, but that’s still a hole in the center.

  1. The pattern creates a lovely ruffled-edge corona that is perfect for a daffodil. Chinese sacred lilies, however, do not have ruffled coronas–their coronas are slightly ridged (or, are less ruffled/have bigger ruffles that extend down the entire corona, if you want to call them ruffles), but mostly quite smooth. Not sure how to make a slightly ridged corona, but it’d be fun to figure that out.

Ruffles! Lots of itty bitty ruffles!

I was also toying with the idea of finding a crisp floral perfume that smells like Chinese sacred lilies and spraying the flower with a bit of the perfume. Chinese sacred lilies smell amazing–there’s a reason they’re called “fragrant water flowers” in Chinese!

If you’re going for realistic, might as well include as many senses as you can!

Despite all my nitpicking, this is actually a lovely little pattern. Maybe one of these days I’ll get around to making all my finicky changes, but for now, my mom gets to enjoy this pretty bloom.

Sitting pretty.

 

Someone else also got to enjoy the daffodil for a little bit:

It’s a giant flower!

You can’t fool me, human. I can tell this isn’t edible.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Daffodil

  1. I’ve never smelled a Chinese lily before! Also, I love these—they are gorgeous. The deepening of the color towards the center is so pretty!

    (Hi Lunchbox!)

    • Chinese lilies smell SO NICE. I kind of want to get some again now.

      The center of the daffodil is actually the same yellow color as the rest of the trumpet part! It looks darker in the photos because the trumpet is tall enough that the shadows at the bottom of the trumpet come out pretty dark. My mom had the same reaction when I showed her these photos! “Huh? But the flower you made me doesn’t have a red center!?”

      (Lunchbox clicks at you!)

Leave a Reply

