Cinnamon Overload Meringues

The cinnamon-lover’s meringue!

Straight from the camera: zero editing on this photo!
(And very minimal editing on the other photos!)

I love cinnamon. I dump cinnamon into everything I can–oatmeal, yogurt, smoothies…I also love meringue cookies as a light, crunchy, sugary snack, especially when I’m working. These meringues are a cinnamon-addict’s dream!

Very basic, minimal recipe:

Cinnamon Overload Meringues
2         egg whites
\frac{1}{2}         cup sugar
2         teaspoons ground cinnamon
\frac{1}{4}         teaspoon vanilla

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees.
  2. Beat egg whites until bubbles form, to break up the whites.
  3. Add vanilla. Beat until whites form soft peaks.
  4. Add cinnamon. Gradually add sugar while continuing to beat egg whites until stiff peaks form.
  5. Dollop onto baking sheet. Bake for 2-3 hours.

Yield: 2\frac{1}{2} dozen cookies

 

It’s probably more professional to pipe meringues onto the baking sheet, but I’m lazy and just dollop them on with a spoon. Plus, it’s fun to see what shapes I can get with different sized and differently angled dollops!

Chocolate-chip shape meringues!

A spiral-y meringue!

I packed about as much cinnamon as possible into these meringues. My taste buds were thoroughly saturated with cinnamon. While it would have been physically possible to dump in more, I don’t think I would have been able to taste any additional cinnamon!

Can you see all the cinnamon packed in that bite?

The meringues are like cinnamon sugar in crunchy form!

Little blobs of cinnamon-y deliciousness!

I may have had a bit too much fun photographing these meringues. It is surprisingly hard to get nice shots of irregularly-shaped meringues. It’s a bit embarrassing how many more photos I took with different set-ups and angles.

Artsy crumb shot.

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Overload Meringues

  1. PLEASE FEED ME. These look so good. I can smell the cinnamon from here.

    These look really neat and round and cute! I am a fan of the dollop method. :D

    • Hmm…I wonder what Customs would do about a package of cookies? :)

      The dollop method has the added benefit of a spoon to lick afterwards!

Leave a Reply

