Golden Tortoise Snitch

Happy Halloween, friends!

Shhhhh, the Golden Snitch is sleeping!

Actually, squeal as loudly as you like. The Golden Snitch loves attention. /spoiled

Kirby is about “the size of a large walnut,” aka the perfect size to be a life-size Golden Snitch!

Also just the right size to pose with Harry!

“Hello, there! Are you here to feed me?”

“Aren’t I adorable?”

“A-A–“

“–CHOO!”

“Excuse me!”

Pattern:

· Ball is my own pattern, published below
· Wings are from Inner Child’s Golden Snitch pattern, which I made for Liz 2.5 years ago
Hook size:

· E-4 (3.5 mm) for yellow ball
· G-5 (4 mm) for wings
Yarns:Lily Sugar’n Cream in Yellow & White




Google Auto Awesome style:

“Hey, what’s that over there? Is it a nom??”

I am all up in your lens!

Kirby is just about the same size as the Golden Snitch I made for Liz, aka just the right size for photoshoots with book cover Harry!


As before, the cover for book one didn’t work quite as well, since Harry is drawn smaller. Pity, since Harry is actually playing Quidditch and trying to catch a Snitch on that one.

Unlike Kirby’s costume last year, Kirby’s Golden Snitch costume didn’t require complicated scallops and ridges. I used mostly just a simple increase this year for covering Kirby’s shell. Kirby’s shell turned out to be somewhat difficult to cover completely, but I managed it with some finagling in the last two rounds.

I was grumpy about being woken up in the middle of the night for fittings, but this fits perfectly!

I wasn’t sure if Kirby is big enough this year for a crocheted under-the-belly band. I also ran out of time to make one, so Kirby’s Golden Snitch costume is secured with a little tape as a temporary fix. The top half with the wings stays on Kirby well enough if he stays still, but the weight of the wings means it falls off as soon as he moves.

“Are you telling me it’s naptime, Mommy?”

I was worried the wings might be too heavy for Kirby, but he didn’t seem to mind at all. Neither did he seem to mind seeing the wings follow him around as he moved. The wings are definitely big enough that he can see them out of the corners of his eyes, but he didn’t even turn his head to look.

I have no problems whatsoever with taking a nap in wings.

Kirby was quite sleepy during his Halloween costume photoshoot…He didn’t even mind sitting on the bottom half of the Golden Snitch–in fact, he apparently thought it was so comfortable that he went right to sleep!

Most important skill for a baby tortoise to have (after cuteness that makes humans give you lots of noms): Being able to nap anywhere, anytime!

Kirby’s Golden Snitch Costume

Golden Snitch top half (the tortoise cozy)
Worked in continuous rounds:
Chain 2. Sc 6 in second chain from hook.
Rnd 1             Inc around. (12)
Rnd 2             *Inc, sc 1* around. (18)
Rnd 3             *Inc, sc 5* around. (21)
Rnd 4             *Sc 3, inc, sc 3* 5 times, sc 3, inc, sc 2, hdc. (24)
Rnd 5            Dc 4, hdc 3, sc 3, hdc, sc 2, hdc, sc 5, sl st. (20, i.e. only 5/6 of a round)
Finish off.

Wings
Identical pattern to Inner Child’s. Leave a long tail for sewing the wings to the top half of the ball.

Golden Snitch bottom half: Ball part
Worked in continuous rounds:
Chain 2. Sc 6 in second chain from hook.
Rnd 1             Inc around. (12)
Rnd 2             *Inc, sc 1* around. (18)
Rnd 3             *Sc 1, inc, sc 1* around. (24)
Rnd 4-5         Sc around. (24)
Finish off.

Golden Snitch bottom half: Cap
Worked in continuous rounds:
Chain 2. Sc 6 in second chain from hook.
Rnd 1             Inc around. (12)
Rnd 2             *Inc, sc* around. (18)
Rnd 3             *Sc 1, inc, sc 1* 4 times, sc 2. (16, i.e. only 2/3 of a round)
Finish off. Leave a long tail for sewing cap to ball part of bottom half.

Stuff ball part of bottom half and sew on cap to close.

Sew wings to sides of Golden Snitch top. Put on baby tortoise, stack winged tortoise on bottom half, and squeal!

All ready to dress up an adorable baby tortoise!

“Okay, I’m ready to put on my costume now!”

“I can’t wait to see if I can fly with these wings!”

“Well, maybe a nap first…”

 

I didn’t think to do this, but I ought to have taken a photo of Golden Snitch Kirby next to a full-sized broom! Oh well, our brooms don’t look spiffy like Quidditch brooms anyways.

“Whatever, I am still just the right size to nap in Harry’s hand on the cover of book seven!”

Making tortoise costumes is way too much fun. Until next Halloween!

 

4 thoughts on “Golden Tortoise Snitch

    • KIRBY IS SUCH A SLEEPYHEAD. He was awake minutes before I put on his costume and started pictures. I put on his costume, set him down, and he instantly went to sleep and gave me such an evil eye when I tried to get him to open his eyes for photos. He woke up for a bit when he just had the top half of his costume on. But as soon as I put him on the squishy bottom half, he was completely gone–I guess it really was like a soft comfy bed for him!

Leave a Reply

