Three!

Three years ago today, I met Kirby for the first time! That calls for a cake, don’t you think?

How about this cake?

CAKE FOR ME!
(Source images: 1 | 2 | 3 )

My mom tried to get Kirby to look at the camera for one photo before he started on his cake. Just one! …NOPE:

ARE YOU KIDDING I SEE NOMS I MUST NOM NO WAITING FOR PHOTOS!!!

Kirby was super excited about seeing his #1 favorite food: Radicchio!

OMNOMNOM
(Source images: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 )

I love radicchio!!
(Source images: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 )

Kirby’s birthday cake this year was doubly exciting because it was his first time eating watermelon!

So that’s what this delicious-smelling red stuff is!

I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS NEW NOM

KIRBY CHOMP!

*swallow*

MOAR!!!

Kirby definitely likes watermelon!

“Like” is an understatement!

I can’t get enough of this delicious watermelon!!

Even with all the excitement of a new kind of noms, Kirby did not forget about his favorite radicchio hiding under the watermelon!

I will never forget about radicchio!

Nor did Kirby forget about the frilly kale “frosting”!

Frilly kale is the best kind of kale!

Really, Kirby was just SUPER EXCITED about all of his cake!

SO MUCH NOMS

ALL FOR ME
(Source images: 1 | 2 | 3 )

Russian tortoises like Kirby are generally not supposed to eat fruit because their guts are not equipped to handle all the sugar. The occasional fruit treat (especially apples, which are good for having lots of pectin) is okay. I have been diligently keeping Kirby away from all fruit every since he got super sick as a baby, but now that he is finally fully recovered and growing like a weed, I figured he was due for a treat!

YES, GIMME TREATS!
(Source images: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 )

Watermelon is on the sweeter side for fruit, but it is also mostly water. Nevertheless, I’ll be limiting Kirby’s watermelon treats to one per year. Kirby didn’t know that, but he sure nommed away like this watermelon would be his last!

I don’t know what you’re talking about.
(Source images: 1 | 2 )

I am happy as long as I have noms in front of me right now!

Biting through noms is so much easier now that I am bigger and stronger!

 

Are there more photos of Kirby’s cake before he demolished it, you ask? Why, yes, there are!


Bonus in-progress photos:

The candle was one in a pack of multicolored star candles that my mom found for under a dollar somewhere! I stuck the candle very firmly into the cake, so there was no chance of Kirby tipping it over and setting the house on fire.

A star for a star!

To be honest, I’m not sure Kirby even noticed the candle at all, lit or unlit!

Star? I AM the star here!

I see only noms, noms, and more noms!
(Source images: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 )

What is this yellow thing you’re showing me? Where is my radicchio and watermelon?!

 

This year, we have BIG news for Kirby’s birthday: As of last weekend, Kirby now weighs over 100 grams!!! (Get it? BIG news!) That is more than four times what Kirby weighed three years ago!!

The birthday boy is truly a big boy now!

Bigger means more room in my stomach for birthday cake!

EDIT: For the curious, Kirby did not manage to finish his birthday cake before going into a food coma. He did, however, finish off all the radicchio!

4 thoughts on “Three!

    • Thank you, friend! I am getting super big! I have already started bulldozing my way through my plastic plants. Mom tells me every day that she can’t believe how big I am!
      ~ Kirby

Leave a Reply

