Happy Thanksgiving!

My name is Tiny Tom!

My name is Tiny Tom!

Thanksgiving friends!

Thanksgiving friends!

Pattern: MevvSan‘s Tiny Tom Turkey, free on Ravelry
Hook size: F/5 (3.75 mm)
Yarns:

· Lily Sugar’n Cream in Warm Brown, Yellow, & Red
· Premier Home Cotton in Orange
Other materials: 6mm safety eyes

No one could possibly eat me for Thanksgiving dinner!

No one could possibly eat me for Thanksgiving dinner!

I couldn’t resist making this tiny roly poly turkey after seeing the pattern a few weeks ago!

How could anyone resist me?!

How could anyone resist me?!

I did make a few changes from the pattern: Most significantly, I used a much larger hook size. The pattern calls for a 2.75mm hook. I don’t even have one that small!

Tiny Tom is still tiny, even compared to tiny Kirby!

Tiny Tom is still tiny, even compared to tiny Kirby!

The pattern is also made with the wrong side facing out. I used to do that, until I learned it was the wrong side. So now I make all my amigurumi with the right side facing out. In this case, I still went with the right side out because that results in a shorter, rounder result–certainly not bad for Tiny Tom!

I am SO ROUND!

I am SO ROUND!

For the tail, I chose the side I liked better to face forwards. It ended up a bit crooked, as did Tiny Tom’s right wing, but it’s still roly poly, so all is good. :)

I am fabulous, tyvm.

I am fabulous, tyvm.

Glamour gif!

Glamour gif!

Note to self: If I make another Tiny Tom Turkey, sew on the wings before the tail!

The fabulousness that is my tail is too distracting when you're trying to sew on my wings.

The fabulousness that is my tail is too distracting when you’re trying to sew on my wings.

Fun fact: Despite what the pattern says, this is actually not a wattle. It is in fact a snood.

Whatever you call my red thing, keep it away from a certain someone who love to nom red things!

Whatever you call my red thing, keep it away from a certain someone who love to nom red things!

Kirby was not particularly impressed by Tiny Tom’s roly polyness.

What pretty leaves!

What pretty leaves!

What a nice tail you have, Tiny Tom!

What a nice tail you have, Tiny Tom!

Why would nomming Tiny Tom's snood be impolite?!

Why would nomming Tiny Tom’s snood be impolite?!

I'm still totally cuter than Tiny Tom, right?

I’m still totally cuter than Tiny Tom, right?

Mom, I want a pretty leaf like this, too!

Mom, I want a pretty leaf like this, too!

Hooray!  My own pretty leaf!

Hooray! My own pretty leaf!

Oof!  Hey, no head bonks!

Oof! Hey, no head bonks!

What are you thankful for this year, Tiny Tom?

What are you thankful for this year, Tiny Tom?

I am thankful for my human who gives me noms and the best head rubs and cuddles!

I am thankful for my human who gives me noms and the best head rubs and cuddles!

Now if only that human would stop taking pictures already and give me noms!

Now if only that human would stop taking pictures already and give me noms!

Leave a Reply

